(Kinh Thánh)

Sacred Scripture is divided into two parts: the Old Testament and the New Testament. The word “testament” means a covenant which God made with His people.

The Old Testament is the story of the Israelites in the light of the various covenants God made with them. The Old Testament is the collection of sacred books of the Hebrews written over a period of 900 years. It prepares and announces the coming of a Messiah, the Redeemer.

The New Testament presents how God’s plan for mankind’s redemption was achieved by sending His owndivine Son into the world. God made a final covenant with His people sealed in the blood of Christ (1 Cor. 11:25). The New Testament contains twenty seven books written between 50-100 A.D. It was written in Greek, and proclaims Jesus as the Messiah, the Son of God.

In the Scripture God meets us as His children, with great love and speaks to us, as members of His Church.

Từ vựng

The Scriptures                    : Kinh Thánh

The Old Testament             : Kinh Thánh Cựu Ước

The New Testament            : Kinh Thánh Tân Ước

The Israelites                     : Dân Israel

Hebrew                              : người Do thái

Messiah                            : Đấng Mesia

Redeemer                          : Đấng Cứu Độ

The divine Son                    : Người Con chí thánh của Thiên Chúa

The People of God              : Dân Thiên Chúa